Diy Ideas

Discussion in 'DIY Wedding' started by sammy, Oct 4, 2011.

1. sammy

sammy

I'm new to this whole wedding planning thing, but money is tight so before I get to carried away I want to try and think of a few things we can do ourselves. I've just been having a read through the other topics in the DIY section here, but I was wondering whether you ladies could help me think up other ideas!!

I'm not the most artistic person in the world but I'm willing to roll up my sleeves and have a go!

I reckon I could do invites, but there seem to be a lot of different things that need to be made. I've never heard of save the dates before I started looking into this!!

Other things on my list:

Favours (maybe something sweet cos I love baking)
    Seating plan
    Box for cards
    Decorations for venue (not picked it yet so I dunno what I'll need yet though)
    Cake

Any other ideas??! We might be picking a venue that needs lots of decorations, so if anyone has got any thoughts on cheap decorations that look good I'll be a happy bunny :)

sammy, Oct 4, 2011
    1. Advertisements

2. sammy

lauriex

Hey Sammy.... Just read your post..You love baking?? Me too! I am in the middle of setting up my own little cake/cupcake business!

Why not have handmade cupcakes as favours? That way if there are people who don't manage to get a piece of wedding cake, they'll still have a little cupcake o enjoy! :)

lauriex, Oct 4, 2011
    1. Advertisements

3. sammy

Becky Administrator

You can do as much or as little as you want really! There have been members on here who even made their own wedding dresses!

Most venues will let you put up whatever decorations you want, and lots of money can be saved here by doing your own. Have you thought about doing your own flowers too? It might be a lot of work to do table centres, but you could have non-flower table centres which could be done in advance and then all you have to do is bouquets and buttonholes.

Hope this helps!